Keynote Speaker Bios

Alan Brinkley
Alan Brinkley is University provost and the Allan Nevins Professor of History at Columbia University. His publications include Voices of Protest: Huey Long, Father Coughlin, and the Great Depression (1982), winner of the National Book Award; The End of Reform: New Deal Liberalism in Recession and War (1995); and Liberalism and Its Discontents (1998). Brinkley was the recipient of the Joseph R. Levenson Memorial Teaching Prize at Harvard in 1986 and of the Great Teacher Award at Columbia in 2003. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Lisa Anderson
Lisa Anderson is professor of political science and dean of the School of International and Public Affairs at Columbia University. She is the author of The State and Social Transformation in Tunisia and Libya 1830-1980; coeditor of The Origins of Arab Nationalism; and editor of Transitions to Democracy. Dean Anderson sits on the boards of the Social Science Research Council, which she chairs; the Carnegie Council on Ethics and International Affairs; and Human Rights Watch.

Hilary Ballon
Hilary Ballon is professor of art history and archaeology at Columbia University. Her recent publications include Frank Lloyd Wright's Towers; New York's Pennsylvania Stations; Louis le Vau: Mazarin's Collége, Colbert's Revenge; The Paris of Henri IV: Architecture and Urbanism. Ballon received the Presidential Award for Outstanding Teaching, the Great Teacher Award, and the Philip and Ruth Hettleman Teaching Award, all at Columbia. She is a member of the board of the Frank Lloyd Wright Conservancy.

Partha Chatterjee
Partha Chatterjee is professor of anthropology at Columbia University and professor of political science at the Centre for Studies in the Social Sciences in Calcutta, India. Recent publications include The Present History of West Bengal; A Possible India; Texts of Power; The Nation and Its Fragments; and Nationalist Thoughts and the Colonial World.

Ira Katznelson
Ira Katznelson is the Ruggles Professor of Political Science at Columbia University. His recent publications include Desolation and Enlightenment: Political Knowledge after the Holocaust, Totalitarianism, and Total War; and Liberalism's Crooked Circle: Letters to Adam Michnik, winner of the American Political Science Association's Michael Harrington Prize and Columbia's Lionel Trilling Award. He is completing a book on the New Deal, the South, and the shaping of postwar liberalism in the United Sates.

Martha Nussbaum
Martha Nussbaum is the Ernst Freund Distinguished Service Professor of Law and Ethics at the University of Chicago. Her recent publications include Upheavals of Thought: The Intelligence of Emotions; Women and Human Development; Cultivating Humanity: A Classical Defense of Reform in Liberal Education, winner of the Ness Book Award of the Association of American Colleges and University; and Sex and Social Justice, honored by the North American Society for Social Philosophy. She received the NYU Distinguished Alumni Award in 2000 and the Barnard College Medal of Distinction in 2003.

Video Archive
View video highlights of the symposium and a transcript of the proceedings.
Conference Transcript
View the full text of the conference (PDF).
Executive Summary
Précis of the Proceedings
Quotations from the conference speakers.
Stand, Columbia
The first single-volume interpretive history of the University in 100 years.
Write Columbia's History
Columbia's history, as seen by those who have studied, taught, and worked here.
C250 Celebrates | C250 Perspectives | C250 Forum | C250 Events | C250 To Go |
Contact C250 | Privacy Policy | About This Web Site | © Copyright 2004 Columbia University