Your Columbians
Isaac Asimov

"A robot may not injure a human being, or, through inaction, allow a human being to come to harm."

Isaac Asimov (1920–92)
BS 1939, MA 1941, PhD 1948

See New York Times obituary, April 7, 1992

Author of nearly 500 books, including

Pebble in the Sky (1950)
I, Robot (1950)
Foundation (1951)
Foundation and Empire (1952)
Second Foundation (1953)
The Caves of Steel (1954)
The End of Eternity (1955)
The Naked Sun (1957)
The Human Body (1963)
Asimov's Guide to the Bible (1968, 1969)
The Shaping of England (1969)
ABC's of Ecology (1972)
Asimov's Annotated Paradise Lost (1974)
Asimov on Chemistry (1974)
Lecherous Limericks (1975)
Animals of the Bible (1978)
In Joy Still Felt (1980)
Counting the Eons (1983)
The Roving Mind (1983)
The Robots of Dawn (1983)
Robots and Empire (1985)
Foundation and Earth (1986)
Prelude to Foundation (1988)
Nemesis (1989)
Asimov Laughs Again (1992)

Submitted by Zachary Schrag, who is solely responsible for the content.

Read more about this nominee in Columbians Ahead of Their Time.

Your Turn
Columbians list their favorites.
Write Columbia's History
Columbia's history, as seen by those who have studied, taught, and worked here
Ahead of Their Time
From Alexander Hamilton to Eric Kandel, Columbians have changed the world and how we see it.
C250 Celebrates | C250 Perspectives | C250 Forum | C250 Events | C250 To Go |
Contact C250 | Privacy Policy | About This Web Site | © Copyright 2004 Columbia University